Media Control During Your Revit Deployment

Several years back, I went through a Microstation (with PArch – yeah to the Intergraphers in the house!) to ADT migration.  I would absolutely categorize major portions of it as a disaster.  At least looking back on it I would call it a disaster.  I was able to build on that experience to coordinate and control our ADT to Revit migration.

The migration is still technically going on, but we are nearing the end of the big push.  I feel confident that this time around things went a lot better, which in some ways is odd since hopping from Microstation to ADT is nothing compared to the hop from ADT to Revit.  For the most part, the first transition was “OK, instead of clicking this button, you click this button, and oh, yeah, you can have infinite layers and you have to save all the time.”  Huh.  When I put it like that I’m sad that I screwed it up so badly.  Anyway, the ADT to Revit transition is more like “OK, instead of clicking this button you need to completely change how you think about putting a job together.”

Wow, I really got lost in that one.

Anyway, one of my tactics for the Revit transition was to control everything that was put out to our firm’s general users about BIM and the software.  If it was about Revit, it was 1984 and I was Big Brother.  There were a couple slips at the beginning, but once I explained to my bosses what needed to be done, a filter was set up where any media, any meetings, any discussions any anything that involved BIM or Revit was put through a filter in our firm.  That filter was me.  I never before invited myself to meetings, but I started to.  Sometimes there were just donuts and the meeting had nothing to do with Revit, but that’s another story…

If you are working on your deplyment, if you are partway through your transition, it is not too late to make this important step.  It might not be you, but someone has to be seen as the BIM Master in your firm.  Not a committee.  You can’t have a hydra BIM Master.  I mean, there has to be a committe to help migrate standards, but there has to be a single face of BIM carrying the flag and mixing the Kool-Aid.

This might seem extreme and archaic, but it is so much easier to maintain control later on down when the deployment really ramps up.  I’ll be sure to take some time later to post some other thoughts on a successful deployment including how to be sneaky and why commitees suck.

