Warning – Floor May Be Closer Than It Appears

So, I stumbled across an odd one today.  Apparently, floors don’t like to follow the rules when it comes to view ranges.

Let’s say you have a floor at Level 1, offset 0′-0″.  Your view range bottom is set at the same height.  I always assumed that since the range was touching the floor, that’s why I saw it.

Boy, was I wrong.

It turns out that you have to get your view range at least 4′ above the floor for it not to appear in a view.

What the what?!  It’s like there is an invisible cube that is 4′ tall sitting on top of a floor.

I did a quick Google and found one reference to it on another blog.  That write-up states that it is “confusing” and “poorly documented”.  I used some different words, but not any that I will type here, in case my mom is reading this.  Hi, mom!

Looks like this “feature” made its way through to 2010 also, at least in my beta it did.

In my opinion this is insane and an amazingly poor idea that needs to be removed ASAP.  When someone sets their view range, they expect that view range to actually work (gasp – crazy idea).  Not work for some items, but not work except for an arbitrary distance with other items.  Dumb dumb dumb.

So watch out for your floors.  They may show up where you don’t expect them to.

