Revit 2010 Impressions

So, we’ve been working with 2010 (update 1) for a bit now.  I have some preliminary impressions.

It seems to like to crash a little more.  At least, we are getting some reports of crashing on two very specific projects.  Both of these projects were updated from 2009, so that might be our issue.  But honestly it’s too late to go back.  Another potential issue with those projects is the linked Civil files.  WAY out in space.  We are approaching that as our working theory and seeing what we can do about cleaning up the DWG before linking.  I hate adding steps for my PMs, but five minutes of work up front to save three crashes in a day seems well worth it.

The Ribbon is not that scary.  I’ll just say that now.  Really, suck it up, try it out, and you might actually find that you like it.

Now it’s time for me to whine about change.  I haven’t spent more than 15 minutes in it, but man I cannot get my big head around the new massing tools (and on a possibly related note, if anyone can find “Curtain System by Lines” in 2010, let me know – I miss her).  I need to sit down for an hour and just do it.  I know they wanted to make it easier, and more ‘Sketchup-y’ (ugh… the S word…) but so far, not that much easier.  So far, none of our PMs have actually used the massing tool for any design work, but it’s there, so I really should know how to do it so I don’t get that blank vacant stare when someone asks me how it works.

I mean, no more than my usual blank vacant stare…

One thought on “Revit 2010 Impressions

  1. (and on a possibly related note, if anyone can find “Curtain System by Lines” in 2010, let me know – I miss her).

    QFT

Comments are closed.