Curved Monolithic Stairs – Am I Doing Something Wrong?

One of my Revit Architecture users hit a snag the other day when making a curved set of stairs to get up to a stage in an elementary school.  They were going to be cast-in-place, so we opted for monolithic.

Now, I have never been a huge stair fan in Revit.  Most of the time, in fact, I hate them (I despise their close relative, the railing, who has become my nemesis).  So when something started going wonky, I wasn’t surprised.

Maybe we’re doing something wrong.  Maybe we have a parameter set incorrectly.  But let me tell you, I tried it on multiple projects, with multiple combinations of parameters, and different materials, and heights, etc etc.  Always had the same bizarre situation:

In plan, everything looked nice and played well together.  So we thought we were good. 

Looks great!

A section cut is where something told us things were angry.  Where are the stairs?!

Something is amiss

When in doubt, go to 3D.  A quick camera dropped in, or switching to your 3D view can answer many questions that other views cannot.  That’s why we model it!  Unfortunately, this was not the case.  Going to 3D just was more bizarre.

Where are my stairs?!

The only thing we can figure is that Revit is refusing to let the “section” of a monolithic stair go past its calculated point, so it just slices it.  What?  And this is only for stairs whose type is checked as “monolithic”.  Non-monolithic curve fine.

Non-mono looks goooood...

This is crazy.  We opted for an in-place family sweep, but even that doesn’t make me happy, because you cannot use the STAIR category for in-place families.  Another bizarre and severe limitation.

If you have seen this issue, and you know how to work past it, feel free to post a comment and let everyone know.  Otherwise, just be aware of the insanity, and cross your fingers that stairs (and their jerk cousin, railings) get an overhaul soon.

7 thoughts on “Curved Monolithic Stairs – Am I Doing Something Wrong?

  1. I must say – the stair tool has in it’s current incarnation, let me dovn more times than the other way around.

    Perhaps you wish will soon come true…?

  2. That definitely got me partway there. Still some odd things as your video shows. In-place model is definitely the way to go, just wish it didn’t have to be the way to go. I always get a tad scared at placing something in a different category that it should be in (wow – bad grammar).
    Oh, and I’m glad that I’m not the only user of the word “wonky”. I get many arched eyebrows whenever I throw that word out in a meeting.

  3. Perhaps. However, if I am reading the stars and constellations correctly… I wouldn’t hold my breath for anytime soon, sadly.

  4. Another way of fixing it is to change the underside from smooth to stepped. It all has to do with the location of that pesky little arrow (which you can’t move yourself..REVIT #%&! knows best) when you select the plan view of the staircase which, it seems, is what gives the underside its slope… in one direction only.

  5. Not especially about this toppic, sorry. But I can’t find a e-mail adress to mail you a sugestion for you’re banner.

    I really like the style in witch you write. (or was that with witch..). esppecially the funny side notes and remarks.

    So it just popt into my head: Title
    RVIT – Vitual Rivality
    sounds like: Virtual Reality but with a twist, or intentional misspelling with Revit.

    just a thought.
    Here, it is yours now, do with it what you like ~_^

    Also, If anyone here knows a way to ‘lock’ all objects in Phase 1 (example “existing”) and be able to work in a other phase. phase 2 (example “New”). A bit like with blocks and xref’s in Acad.

    idea’s or work-arounds apreciated ^_^

  6. Glad you like the posts! I’m having fun writing them, as many bloggers, I just need to do it more often.
    I have no clue about locking phases… anyone else?

Comments are closed.