Wow. A Whole Year. And Patterns

A year since I’ve written anything.  Nuts.  I’m not one for resolutions… so I’ll just leave it at that.

I was struggling trying to make some fill patterns manually today.  Have you ever tried to do those by hand?  Yeah, I think Rainman worked up the syntax for those files.  So, making them by hand is obnoxious.

Quick Google search found a piece of software that I could buy for around $180 to make the pat files.  Come on!  There has to be something free!

Then I came across this post.  The post is old, and it forces you to use ACAD, but it gets the job done very nicely.  I had to remember how to draw a line, but once I did I made some pattern files to pull into good old Revit.  And it was MUCH faster than doing it by hand.

Ideally, I would think that the geniuses at Autodesk Labs would make some online HTML5 application that lets you draw and save a pat file right in your browser, but that’s me dreaming again.

Hey!  I’ve dipped my to into C# and done some coding for Revit!  I’ll try to share that fun soon!

8 thoughts on “Wow. A Whole Year. And Patterns

  1. Yea the patterns are horrable.
    More than a year ago i already posted a request in sub center for scaling of the patterns with a parameter within revit. but it stillw as not in 2012, in i doubt it be in 2013.

    The autocad Pat file maker works ok, but sgain, you cant set a scale in revit, unles you import if again for each scale you want.
    bah, wich they would fix that…

  2. Exactly! And, let’s be honest, I’m not the most organized person in the world. I have a hard time tracking down that .pat file that I imported a year ago.

  3. How did my searching fail so hard that it never found this? Was my computer drunk when I went looking around the Internet?! Great stuff here thanks.

  4. I had a similar problem. A while ago the interiors people wanted to create some ridiculous floor patterns so I searched and searched and found nothing (ok, nothing in my price range, which is, of course, free)

    Then a few months ago someone else asked about it when I had some random spare time, so I went back to AUGI and magically stumbled upon the right string of words to find some old thread about Hatch 22.

    I too have no idea how I missed it the first time I went looking…

    P.S. I stumbled upon your blog while Googling versions of ‘Revit humor’ to find a funny picture to end my monthly office-wide Revit email and then spent today reading through all your old posts.

    I could have written many of them, from the rants right down to the dislike of Crocs (but I have a Revit whip instead) Very entertaining and enlightening and I hope you find some more time to keep writing.

Comments are closed.