Ch ch ch ch changes

Revit 2013 is out, and I am sure you’ve seen many many posts on the wondrous new features.

And I haven’t gotten a chance to even download the software yet.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE new shiny stuff.  And there are some new shiny things that I am really excited about.  OK, there’s ONE new shiny thing I am excited about.

Stairs.  And railings.  Two things.

The stair system has been ignored for years and years.  The poor quality of the tool forced us to design everything as only a single story!  (Not really)  Everything that I have seen and read about the overhauled stairs has gotten me excited.  Excited that it looks like it might be “fixed” finally, but also excited that the older features aren’t getting ignored forever.  I understand the need to prioritize and add new stuff, but sometimes the old crappy stuff needs love as well.  This was one of those times.

When it comes to materials, that’s something different.  This is, what, the third release in a row that the materials have gotten an overhaul?  Spoiled much, materials?!  Why did you get to be the favorite?  What about some of our other long forgotten friends like Copy/Monitor ceilings and better text editing and more flexible schedules and a lightweight viewer with WASD controls?  Why are these wishlist items cast off and left to wither on some software version of the Island of Misfit Toys?  Don’t they deserve some love, too?

I don’t think I’m going to invest the time into learning this new materials system until it sticks around for at least one more release.  Spoiled rotten materials.

