Here’s An Idea to Help Me Cheat

I just realized I have a lot of Donovan on my iPhone.  Not hours and hours, but like 8 songs.  That seems like a lot of Donovan.  I might need to reevaluate some things in my music listening life.  Hm.

Sorry about that.

After working with Revit for years and years, I’ve come to realize that it likes things a certain way.  Case in point, is the relationship between model elements and annotation.  There is a distinct line between these two categories of items.  I know, this seems like Revit 101, but there are times that I would like these lines to be a little more wuzzy, or maybe to have Autodesk incorporate my latest genius idea!

So you know how when you are placing an element, you can specify (in your project) what tag to place with it?  This works nice for rooms and doors and windows for the most part.  You only have a couple different tags to work with.

We come across problems with items that are a little more vague in nature, elements that are usually associate with symbology and not a representation of the actual element.  In our case, that includes items like fire extinguisher cabinets, ceiling speakers, cameras, wall joints… stuff like this.  Stuff that is hard to tell what it is on its own, and really needs to be represented by a scale agnostic symbol.

In theory, I could load in tags for each, then before I place each one, go to my OPTIONS button and change what tag to use for whatever category of element I am using (a lot of this stuff ends up being SPECIALTY EQUIPMENT or GENERIC MODELS) and Revit will tag it with my symbol.  Sounds OK on paper, but in practice this is pretty annoying procedure and easy to mess up.

So, here’s my idea, stop me if you’ve heard this one.  I wonder if it would be possible to link a specific annotation symbol to a model family at the family editor level, so when the element is placed it simply uses that attached tag all the time.  Right now, we embed symbols into the above mentioned items, but that’s not the same, and we end up having some very odd glitches when a view range just happens to snag an element and the element itself is below a roof or ceiling, but since the symbol is annotation it draws it “on top” of everything.  If a default tag could be tied to components at the family level, and get placed in the view with the component that would definitely lower a lot of the confusion that I see.

Do you see my problem here?  Am I overthinking it?  Have you already solved it?  Curious what others are doing about this.

