Moving Drafting Views Around

Chalk this up to a quick little reminder. I find it interesting what the experienced Revit users in our office either don’t know how to do, or have just plain forgotten. It’s a good reminder about how complex Revit can be. It is also a reminder that I can definitely not know things or forget things as well. For example, what did I have for breakfast? No one knows!

Someone asked me about getting some drafting views out of a project in a 2013 model into a  2014 model. The basic idea would be to use INSERT VIEWS FROM FILE, but these models were really big. Add to that, the extra memory needed for an upgrade, and we had a recipe for a PC that would catch on fire.

Time for a third wheel! In my mind, I had the idea about using a “tertiary” model: transfer the views from the 2013 model into an empty 2013 project, upgrade that file, then transfer again in 2014.

Not bad, but the user came back and said “really? There isn’t a better way?” Before simply emailing the reply “Hey! Who carries the BIM Stick around here?!!” I thought they were right. That method kind of sucked. And there was a tickling at the base of my brain about a feature I had never really looked into. Maybe it’s time to research and not assume that I know everything.

Seriously, this is my BIM Stick
Again, the BIM Stick

Being in IT, and being in BIM support, one has to have a refined set of techniques for discovering new concepts, an expansive set of tools one uses to explore new ideas, and an organized method of testing each one and documenting the results.

I started right-clicking around in Revit.

BAM! What is this I see? “Save to New File…” right there in the context menu.

bam

Yup. I bet a lot of you know about this. Some of you may not. It’s a cute little function that will let you export the selected Drafting View (or Views) into a teeny tiny Revit file. No extra garbage. No transferring into a tertiary file. This was my tertiary file.

Simple after this. Just open and upgrade this newly exported file in 2014 (a procedure that took WAY less time due to file size) and INSERT VIEWS FROM FILE to get them in there.

This will only work with Drafting Views, sadly, but it should be helpful getting that little detail out of that old project.

And don’t forget that no matter how long you’ve been working in Revit, you probably don’t know everything.

