Quick Tip – Clean Up After Yourself

After you import a view from another model, clean it up. There is a chance that it brought in some new annotation styles, or detail items. Change them all to corresponding elements already existing in your model, and then delete the newly unused ones that just came in.

One of our most notorious examples is the infamous Break Line. Each drafting view we imported had a copy of the break line family. By the time anyone noticed, the project model had “Break Line (1)” through “Break Line (22)”. We have since updated our details to avoid detail components and be exclusively linework, but something always seems to slip by.

A clean model is a happy model!

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Quick Tip – Clean Up After Yourself

  1. What you describe is the result of worksharing and multiple users loading the same family in their own local files. Revit sees multiple versions of the same file being loaded from different local files (users) and seeks to protect them by renaming the “other” versions it encounters.

    This is easy to test. Have two users open local files for the same project central. Have each load the same family and type, place a couple instances somewhere, and then SwC. The first person to sync will be successful without an issue but the second person will received a warning about the family being renamed. If this is repeated enough, and by enough users at the same time, eventually you’ll end up with “family22” like you describe.

    Cleaning up after oneself is important but it is also important to manage the loading of content and harvested details. It is equally important that people understand why these “extra” version show up in the first place. Each time someone uses Load Family or Insert from File they must reconcile the warnings that appear before anyone has a chance to begin using the wrong version of the families that are duplicated.

    Please don’t abandon using one of the most powerful aspects of detailing with Revit (detail components) because of this.

  2. Good clarification on the worksharing aspect of the issue! I am certainly not endorsing avoiding detail components. It’s all a balance, I think, and some times it’s easier to protect users from themselves, especially if you’re not losing much functionality. Then again, it might depend on your users!

  3. If you SwC immediately before and after loading new content wouldn’t that stop the duplicates happening?

  4. Hm, probably a good place to start, except then you open up the issue of syncing too often, which can lead to its own problems.

Comments are closed.